Ernest Hemingway Series | Rakuten Kobo

Illustration and design for Kobo‘s classic 5 book Ernest Hemingway series: The Old Man And The Sea, The Sun also Rises, Farewell to Arms, A Moveable Feast and For Whom The Bell Tolls.

We really enjoyed working on this project, it was a fun challenge to make each cover unique, while still feeling like part of a larger family. Each piece is a combination of ink drawings, photography, and paint textures. It was a blast searching out distinct typefaces for each title, and finding ways to reference vintage book cover art. 

Thanks AD Michelle Kaatz!


Michelle Kaatz, Kobo


January 30, 2021


Design, Featured, Illustration